Senaste Info Katalog Webside

Bernard Zweers
EAN: 7393338106128
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • Bernard Zweers (1854-1924)
  • Symphony No. 2 in E flat major
  • Concert Overture ‘Saskia’
  • Suite from the incidental music to Vondel’s ‘Gijsbrecht van Aemstel’
Framförd av: Netherlands Radio Symphony Orchestra - Antoni Wit / Radio Filharmonisch Orkest Holland - Jean Fournet / Radio Filharmonisch Orkest Holland - Lucas Vis
A Dutch master! This gifted composer leans towards Schumann in the symphony, which has a delicate second movement with exquisite woodwind scoring. The short introductory pieces to Gijsbrecht mix quick movements based on the Dies iræ with captivating beauty.

Gruss aus Baden-Baden
EAN: 7393338106227
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • Miloslaw Koennemann(1826–90)
  • Der Fremersberg
  • Jacques Offenbach(1819–80)
  • La Princesse de Trébizonde, overture
  • Konradin Kreutzer(1780–1849)
  • Das Nachtlager von Grenada, overture
  • Jean-Baptiste Arban(1825–89)
  • Fantasie and Variations on Carnival of Venice
  • Johann Strauss II(1825–99)
  • Ballsträusschen Op.380
  • Lob der Frauen Op.315
  • Charles Gounod(1818–93)
  • La colombe, entr’acte
Framförd av: Matthias Höfs, trumpet / Baden-Baden Philharmonic Orchestra - Werner Stiefel
Koennemann was a military musician who came to Baden-Baden around 1850. His piece Der Fremersberg is performed there outdoors every year and the audience is meant to sing along in the concluding hymn. Even Mark Twain loved it, writing that it ‘delighted me, warmed me, moved me, stirred me, uplifted me, enraptured me.’ So this is a must – also for the tender and melancholy work by Gounod.

Gustaf Bengtsson - Concertos
EAN: 7393338106326
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • Gustaf Bengtsson (1886-1965)
  • Violin Concerto in B minor
  • Cello Concerto in A minor
Framförd av: Tobias Ringborg, violin / Malmö Opera Orchestra - Mats Rondin / Mats Rondin, cello / Malmö Opera Orchestra - Tobias Ringborg
There is only one word for Bengtsson’s music: craftmanship. He is definitely a Swedish Romantic – but his music is more general in style than folkloristic. The soloists swap places as conductors – they are both highly qualified to do so. You will love these concertos!

August Halm
EAN: 7393338106425
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • August Halm (1869-1929)
  • Symphony in A minor
Framförd av: Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen - Per Borin
Here is a remarkable Bruckner pupil: that much is obvious from his broad writing inspired by nature. But Halm’s writing is more intimate and there are fewer great crescendos. This is great music for meditation.

Émile Jaques-Dalcroze
EAN: 7393338106524
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • Émile Jaques-Dalcroze (1857–1931)
  • Janie (Idylle musicale en trois actes)
  • Impressions Tragiques
  • Tableaux Romands (Suite d’orchestre)
Framförd av: Moscow Symphony Orchestra - Adriano
The second CD in our series with Jaques-Darcroze’s orchestral music.While Janie would be very suited for ballet and movement (Dalcroze created his own theories regarding this), Tableaux Romands are really very romantic tone pictures with extremely colourful orchestration. L’Alps really stands out as an extremely memorable piece with singing alpine horns and a very charming and insistent motive rather reminiscent of a Swiss cuckoo clock…!

Helena Munktell
EAN: 7393338106623
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • Helena Munktell (1852-1919)
  • Bränningar (Breaking Waves), symphonic poem Op.19
  • Suite for Large Orchestra
  • Valborgsmessoeld Op.24
  • Suite dalécarlienne Op.22
Framförd av: Gävle Symphony Orchestra - Tobias Ringborg
Here is another pioneer. The great symphonic poem BreakingWaves points toward impressionism. Much of Munktell’s work is influenced by Swedish folk music – but it is sometimes very daring in harmony.

Oskar Lindberg
EAN: 7393338106722
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • Oskar Lindberg (1887-1955)
  • Three Dalecarlian Paintings Op.1
  • Festive Polonaise Op.13
  • From Home, symphonic poem Op.34
  • Leksand Suite Op.41
  • Gesunda, symphonic poem Op.54
Framförd av: Gävle Symphony Orchestra - Michael Bartosch
Here is a world première selection of symphonic works ranging from the composer’s first orchestral pieces to his last symphonic poem, Gesunda. He is basically a melodic sentimentalist with a distinct Swedish rustic flavour. In the Dalcarlian Paintings there is also elegiac folklore, and in From Home you can more or less hear the green Swedish forests rustle in an orchestral setting… A real gem!

Zweers / de Lange
EAN: 7393338106821
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • Bernhard Zweers (1854-1924)
  • Symphony No. 1
  • Daniël de Lange (1841-1918)
  • Symphony No. 1
Framförd av: Netherlands Radio Symphony Orchestra - Ed Spanjaard / Anthony Halstead
What a discovery! Zweers is hardly unknown in the Netherlands – but his Symphony No. 3, ‘To my Fatherland’, is the only one that seems to have gained recognition. On this disc we hear a youthful and spirited work, very much inspired by Haydn – a jolly and gracious work with a jubilant following a solemn and highly memorable choral melody. De Lange may have been more inspired by Mendelsohn. Even so, his music is in part very original with persistent timpani in the first movement and a fine melodic build-up in the last!

Wilhelm Peterson-Berger
EAN: 7393338106920
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • Wilhelm Peterson-Berger (1867-1942)
  • Domedagsprofeterna (The Doomsday Prophets), excerpts
Framförd av: Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra - Ulf Söderblom / Soloists include Mikael Samuelson, Solveig Faringer & Thomas Sunnegårdh
This CD is derived froma remarkable radio performance in 1984 with excerpts fromthe opera Domedagsprofeterna. Lars Runsten was responsible for the radio adaptation and Ulf Söderblom, doyen of Finish Opera formany years, was the conductor. Peterson-Berger’s opera takes place among students at Uppsala University during the heyday of Swedish imperialism around 1640. It is a stunningly comical opera, rich inmelody and orchestration, extremely well sung by several great Swedish opera singers. The beautiful and poetic Aubade, sung by Mikael Samuelson, became well-known during Peterson-Bergers lifetime, as did the orchestral fugue – again brilliantly conducted by Ulf Söderblom.

Andreas Hallén
EAN: 7393338107026
Prisgrupp: GA1
  • Andreas Hallén (1846-1925)
  • Gustaf Wasas Saga
  • Romanze for Violin and Orchestra
  • Sphärenklänge
  • Im Herbst
  • Dämmerungsschein
Framförd av: Gävle Symphony Orchestra - Christopher Fifield
Hallén was a true Wagnerian – but most of his works are on a rather more intimate scale. Gustaf Wasa may have been a king of war and unrest in Sweden but Hallén’s suite (incidental music for a play) is more subdued and peaceful. The other pieces are also rather intimate – and Hallén’s orchestration is very skilful and personal. The opening piece, Romanze, betrays a debt to Hallén’s teacher Reinecke.